Meta

Introductions

Good evening gentle readers,

Please allow me to introduce myself and this website. My name is Kawai Shen. I’m the creator of the Cute Juice Comics site which hosts The Book of Mutations (TBOM), a progressively naughty serial comic that will launch November 12, 2012 and be updated here every Monday and Thursday. The official tagline is A postcolonial feminist coming of age story wrapped in a sadomasochistic fantasy but I’ll just call it a nasty little tale designed to titillate and, if you’re so inclined, to make you think about structures of power. I’ve posts cued up until March 2013, plus more pages on route to being scanned and cleaned, so if you are looking for a comic that’s substantial, dark and fairly explicit, you’ve come to the right place.

A few housekeeping notes:

  • Because I’ve just started this website, the SIDE PROJECTS link won’t work just yet. Please be patient, the content is ready to be cued and on its way.
  • I wish to bring TBOM to traditional print media and am still debating how much content I’ll ultimately publish here. For the meantime, I intend to blur out the most explicit panels for online consumption. Going hardcore is always better offline, in my opinion. It’s so much more civilized than wanking off alone in the glare of a laptop.
  • I’d love to hear your feedback. If you have the time to drop me a line, I’ll do my best to get back to you.

Now, onto the pleasantries.

I am a resident of Toronto, home of the delightful Toronto Comic Arts Festival and the legendary comic book store, The Beguiling. So often we write about our favourite films, books and music when we try to inform others of ourselves. I feel that Toronto has influenced me just as much, if not more, than the media I consume, so I think it appropriate to share some of my favourite local establishments with you: Wrongbar, Queen Video, the Design Exchange, YogaSpace, Toronto Reference Library, the ROM, Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, the Porter lounge, St. Lawrence Market, and so many more… I haven’t even included any restaurants!

Other cities that I love are, in no particular order, Tokyo, San Francisco and Prague.

