Comics & Side Projects

The Mercy Seat (revenge variation)

I love this song by Nick Cave. Here are my modified lyrics, changed to reflect the voice of a female inmate. Maybe one day I’ll record it…

It began when they took me from my home
& put me on death row
of which I am nearly wholly innocent you know
& I’ll say it again: I am not afraid to…

I began to warm & chill
to objects and their fields
a ragged cup, a twisted mop
the face of Mary in my soup
benediction by her flesh
& all things undone & undressed

& the mercy seat is waiting
& I think my head is burning
& in a way I’m yearning
to be done with all this measuring of proof
an eye for an eye & a tooth for a tooth
& anyway I’ve told the truth
& I’m not afraid to –

Interpret signs & catalogue
a blackened eye, a female dog
yes I wore lipstick, fuck me heels
my shoes gave my consent you know
you only reap what that you sow
& drugstore blondes don’t get appeals

I hear stories from the chamber
pray the Lord keeps you from danger
but like some ragged stranger
he will make you pay & might I say
it seems so fitting in its way
I knew him well enough to stay
& in my arms to hold

Mary understands that sometimes a man can ask for it
just like I did, just like they said I did

Now I have aged & I am old
I waited years & I grew bold
to take back what he stole
from other women too or so I’m told
they found his body bound in wire
& my flesh is still on fire
& Mary’s never far away

& the mercy seat is waiting
& I think my head is burning
& in a way I’m yearning
to be done with all this weighing of truth
an eye for an eye & a tooth for a tooth
& anyway I’ve told the truth
& I’m not afraid to –

& the mercy seat is waiting
& I think my head is burning
& in a way I’m yearning
to be done with all this measuring of proof
an eye for an eye & a tooth for a tooth
& I’ve got nothing left to loose
but I’m afraid I’ll meet Her up on high

