I&I

Review: Zombie Games: Return of the Living Dead

shintaro-kago-01

Zonbi 遊戲 (sorry, I have no idea how to pronounce these kanji), or Zombie Games, is nasty little bilingual comic by Shintaro Kago. It’s basically a series of truly disgusting visual gags involving zombies. It includes some sexually explicit ones that I’ll refrain from describing because they are so awful and I don’t want to spoil you. In terms of the degree of awfulness, it’s not as bad as say, goatse, but it’s certainly internet awesome, which means you won’t know whether to laugh or cry. I don’t have much else to say about this except it helps to know a little Japanese as the English translations are pretty thin. I will add however, that this is probably not a good representation of Kago’s work. From what I’ve seen, some of his work is more substantial, commenting on political issues. I have thumbed through one manga that appeared to be highly critical of Japan’s colonial project in the 1930s; it basically featured the imperial army armed with… projectile diarrhea. Being of such a delicate constitution myself, I don’t do well with scatological stories, so I’m afraid you’ll have to wade into that filth on your own if you’re so inclined.

shintaro-kago-02

I picked up Zombie Games at The Beguiling; call to see if it’s still in stock.

