Annotations

Garden of FUCK

I’ve never understood the appeal of gardening. What’s the point of having a garden unless you can afford to pay landscapers to take care of it for you? Despite that, I’d be down with having this freaky little jungle in my backyard. Incidentally, it was inspired by Angela Carter‘s libidinous short story, Penetrating to the Heart of the Forest, in which a brother and sister wander into a forest full of boob trees, raw oyster fruit and the original Eve’s apple. Obviously, Carter was a much classier woman than myself and if you enjoy lush, baroque turns of phrase with a dash of profanity, you should read her.

(I meant to post this annotation last week to follow up with panels 2526 but am afraid I was preoccupied with V-day preparations. I hope you’ll excuse the oversight…)

